How Derbyshire Dales is governed

Derbyshire Dales Greens logo

How is Derbyshire Dales governed?

Good question. Get a drink and a snack and make yourself comfortable because it is not straightforward. If you get confused about who is responsible for what, you’re in good company because elected councillors do too.

We have our MPs, who we send off to Westminster, where they are supposed to represent us in government at a national level, but we’re not talking about that here.

Local government is administered by our councils. Derby City has its own council, while the rest of Derbyshire has County and District Councils in a 2-tier system.

Different things are run from the different levels.

Our Upper Tier: DCC

The upper tier, Derbyshire County Council (DCC) sits in County Hall in Matlock and covers the whole of Derbyshire, excluding Derby City itself. Elections are every 4 years, including 2017, 2021, 2025, etc.

Derbyshire is divided into 64 divisions. In each County election, each division elects a councillor to the County Council.

DCC has responsibility for (among other things):

  • Waste management
  • Child education
  • Adult education
  • Libraries
  • Social services
  • Transport
  • Strategic planning
  • Consumer protection
  • Police
  • Fire

DCC is controlled by the Conservatives, with a large majority. However history shows that this majority is fragile with large swings between Labour and the Conservatives in recent years. There are a few Liberal Democrats and no Greens, Independents or other parties (yet).

Lower Tiers

There are 8 districts/boroughs in Derbyshire (excluding Derby City). DCC is the upper tier for all of these places.

Each of these has it’s own ‘lower tier’ of District or Borough council.

  • Amber Valley
  • Bolsover
  • Chesterfield
  • Derbyshire Dales
  • Erewash
  • High Peak
  • North East Derbyshire
  • South Derbyshire

Below this there are town and parish councils. Again, we are not discussing these here.

Our Lower Tier: DDDC

Our lower tier, Derbyshire Dales District Council (DDDC) sits in Town Hall in Matlock and covers the Derbyshire Dales District shown in the map below.

Derbyshire Dales is divided into 25 wards, some electing more than one councillor depending on population, making 39 councillors in all. Elections are every 4 years, including 2019, 2023, etc.

DDDC has responsibility for (among other things):

  • Housing
  • Waste collection
  • Council tax collection
  • Elections
  • Local planning
  • Licensing
  • Cemeteries and crematoria

DDDC is controlled by the Conservatives, but with a majority of only 1. A large majority was eroded at the 2019 District elections, when 2 Greens were elected as well as increases for other opposition parties and independents. Some of the independents align with us, making a ‘Green and Independent Group’ of 5 councillors, led by our Green councillor, Neil Buttle. In these circumstances, rather than being lonely and isolated, our Green councillors have some real influence.

The 2021 County Council Elections

All 64 seats on DCC are up for election on May 6th.

For simplicity, only the area of Derbyshire Dales District is shown in the map below. The 6 County divisions that fall within the Dales are labelled.

For details of our candidates, click  here .

For more detailed division maps, click these links:

Published and promoted by and on behalf of the Derbyshire Green Party, 77 Ling Road, Chesterfield, Derbyshire S40 3HU.